Xu Beihong Museum

BeiJing Travel



Xu Beihong Museum

Xu Beihong Museum lies in No.53 Xinjiekou Beidajie, Xicheng District. It is a monumental museum featuring the life, works and precious collections of Xu Beihong, the father of Chinese modern painting. Consisting of an introductory hall and seven exhibit halls, the museum exhibits more than 1,100 pieces of his excellent works, including Chinese traditional paintings, oil paintings, sketches and seals. Also on display are a large amount of his precious collections of famous painters, art books, rubbings of stone inscription, and pictures.

Xu Beihong (1895-1953) is an outstanding and prolific painter and influential art educator. He had worked as the first president of the Chinese Central Academy of Fine Arts, and the first chairman of the Chinese Artists' Association. After eight years' study in Europe, he returned to China, and devoted himself to painting and art education. Besides, he is an enthusiastic patriot; his works, with his deep affection for the motherland, greatly inspired the suffering Chinese people. When he passed away, his wife, the incumbent curator of the museum, Liao Jingwen contributed his precious works, famous collections and other important things to the country.

In the court of the museum stands a white jade bust of Xu Beihong. The introductory hall exhibits Xu Beihong's self-portraits. Three halls display Xu Beihong's splendid Chinese traditional paintings. One of the most famous is a painting of the legend of Jiufang Gao, a remarkable man able to judge the qualities of horses. On a monumental scale, this painting shows his deep indignation and strong desire for the country's bright future. The Foolish Old Man Removing Mountains painted in 1940 encouraged people to win the victory of wars. In addition, his paintings of horses enjoy high prestige; no matter galloping horse, standing horse, or cantering horse, racing horse; they were all portrayed with human feelings of happiness or sadness.

Two halls feature his distinctive oil paintings. The well-known Five Hundred Soldiers in the Field was in praise of the Chinese people's fortitude and character. The sketches, including portraits and scenery sketches are also on display in another two halls. The last hall shows pictures and photos of the master's life and career. Here, one can see the master's tools of painting, his last collection and an uncompleted works.

Admission Fee:
CNY 5 (Free on Wednesdays)
Opening Hours:
09:00-12:00, 13:00-17:00 (Tuesday-Sunday)
Line 2 to Jishuitan (积水潭), and then walk to the museum.
Bus Route:
22, 38, 47, 409, 626, 726, 810, 826 to Jishuitan (积水潭桥南), then walk southwards for about 220 yards to the Xu Beihong Museum (徐悲鸿纪念馆).


Any question or suggestion, please Contact Us
© 1998-2008 Beijing Travel, All rights reserved.